AT WSMRF MEMBER INSTITUTIONS

2010-2011 WSMRF Committee Members

and Institutional Contacts

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

(note:  Student Committee members are updated as information is received.  If there is a new Student Representative at your institution, or if you are a student who would like to be a Student Rep from your school listed below where there is no rep listed, please contact Fran Kissel at fkissel@mednet.ucla.edu)

SCHOOL

NAME

EMAIL

Loma Linda University

Kurt Meyer

kmeyer@llu.edu

Oregon Health Sciences University

Gabriel Andeen

andeeng@ohsu.edu

Stanford University

Mariko Howe

mlhowe@stanford.edu

Stanford University Richard Chiu richard2@stanford.edu

University of Arizona

Chris Geffre

cgeffre@email.arizona.edu

University of Arizona Dave Margolis dsm@email.arizona.edu

University of British Columbia

Tia Liu

tialiu@interchange.ubc.ca

University of California, Davis

Hillary Davis

2010-2011 Vice-Chair

hedavis@ucdavis.edu

University of California, Davis Raja Sivamani rksivamani@ucdavis.edu

University of California, Irvine

Kyong Min

ksmin@uci.edu

University of California, Irvine Madhukar Patel patelms@uci.edu

University of California, Los Angeles

Jeffrey Hsu

jjhsu@ucla.edu

University of California, Los Angeles Josh Gordon jgordon1@ucla.edu
University of California, San Diego Csilla Felsen  cfelsen@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego

Ryan Matson

rmatson@ucsd.edu

University of Colorado

Mira Estin

mestin@gmail.com

University of Colorado

Sarah Nelson

sarahkaynelson@gmail.com

University of Nevada

William Chung

surahv@yahoo.com

University of New Mexico

Ross Clark

RMClark@salud.unm.edu

University of Southern California

Alexander Melamed

melameda@usc.edu

University of Utah

TBA

University of Washington

Ian Gallaher

iansg@u.washington.edu

University of Washington

Jordan Sand

2010-2011 Chair

jpsand@u.washington.edu

Western University of Health Sciences

James James

jjames@westernu.edu

Western University of Health Sciences Allan Belcher abelcher@westernu.edu

WSMRF Co-Executive Director

Gary Schiller, M.D.

gschiller@mednet.ucla.edu

WSMRF Co-Executive Director

Marguerite McNeely, M.D., MPH mcneely@u.washington.edu

WSMRF Program Co-Director and webmaster

Sarika Thakur, MPH, Ed.D. sarika@mednet.ucla.edu
WSMRF Program Co-Director Marcie Buckner mbuckner@u.washington.edu
Residents' Forum

Jacob Hogue, M.D.

2009-2010 Chair

HogueJ@peds.ucsf.edu

 


INSTITUTIONAL ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACTS

SCHOOL

NAME

TITLE

PHONE#

EMAIL

Bastyr University

Gannady Raskin, ND, MD (Ukr)

Dean, School of Naturopathic Medicine

425-402-3386

graskin@bastyr.edu

Loma Linda University

Henry Lamberton, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs

909-824-4630

hlamberton@som.llu.edu 

Stanford University

Laurence Baker, Ph.D.

Mara Violanti

Director, Scholarly Concentrations Program
Office of Student Affairs

650-723-0355

650-723-0355

laurence.baker@stanford.edu

marav@stanford.edu

Oregon Health Sciences University Molly Osborne, M.D., Ph.D. Associate Dean, Student Affairs 503-494-5708 osbornem@ohsu.edu

University of Arizona

Marlys Witte, M.D.

Department of Surgery

520-626-7383

lymph@u.arizona.edu 

University of British Columbia Jane Lee Program Coordinator M.D.-Ph.D. Program 604- 822-7198
ubcmdphd@interchange.ubc.ca

University of Arizona

Grace S. Wagner

Program Coordinator

520-626-6360

grace@surgery.arizona.edu

University of California, Davis

Vijaya Kumari, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Curricular Affairs

916-752-0331

vgkumari@ucdavis.edu 

University of California, Irvine

Michael Prislin, M.D.

Associate Dean of Student Affairs

714-456-5171

mdprisli@uci.edu. 

University of California, Los Angeles

Fran Kissel

Research Advisor, Office of Student Affairs

WSMRF

Program Co-Director

and webmaster

310-825-8020

fkissel@mednet.ucla.edu

University of California, San Diego

Maria Savoia, M.D.

Andrea

Mondragon

Vice Dean for Medical Education

Division of Medical Education

858-534-3703

858-822-6530

msavoia@ucsd.edu 

amondragon@ucsd.edu

University of Colorado

Stephanie Vetter

Student Research Coordinator

303-724-7731

?

Stephanie.Vetter@ucdenver.edu

University of Nevada

David Lupan, Ph.D.

Interim Dean for Research and Development

775-784-4125

dmlupan@med.unr.edu 

University of New Mexico

Anne Schumann

Office of Undergraduate Medical Education

505-272-5077

aschumann@salud.unm.edu

University of Southern California

Joel Schechter, Ph.D.

Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

323-442-1862
schechte@usc.edu
University of Utah Harry R. Hill, M.D. Education Division of Clinical Immunology 801-581-7201 harry.hill@path.utah.edu

University of Washington

Marcie Buckner

Manager, Basic Science Curriculum

206-543-0922

mbuckner@u.washington.edu

Western University of Health Sciences

James Martin, Dr.rer.nat.

Professor of Physiology

909-469-5229

jmartin@westernu.edu


BYLAWS OF THE WESTERN STUDENT MEDICAL RESEARCH

FORUM (WSMRF)

The Western Student Medical Research Forum (WSMRF) was formed April 1972 by the members of the Charter National SAMA Scientific Council.? It was organized to fulfill the needs of students in the health professions who were engaged in original medical research, but did not have the opportunity to present their work at a formal meeting with expert and peer review.? The WSMRF cooperated with three other regional forums:? National Student Research Forum (Univ. of Texas Medical Branch); Midwestern Student Research Forum; and Eastern Student Research Forum.

The WSMRF is held in Carmel, California each year during the first week of
February in conjunction with the Western Society for Clinical Investigation (WSCI), Western Society for Pediatric Research (WSPR), and the Western Region, Society for Investigative Dermatology (WR, SID) and Western Association of Physicians (WAP).? The WSMRF is unique in this regard because it is independent of a sponsoring medical school and it offers to student participants (at the Student Scientific Sessions, Faculty Subspecialty Meetings and Faculty Poster Sessions) the opportunity for exposure to a wide variety of prominent faculty researchers.? The WSMRF is thus able to grow due to the active support and full cooperation given by faculty members of the senior research organizations and the generous financial support of both the participating Medical Schools and the American Medical Association Education and Research Foundation.? All student research presenters are included in the Student Forum planned activities.

Participants are selected on the basis of an abstract on any topic of original medical research. All abstracts submitted are published in The Journal of Clinical Investigation , February issue and the best abstracts are chosen for presentation.

The selection process is as follows:?

WSMRC COMMITTEE MEMBER DUTY STATEMENT

also, review meeting and issues discussed and voted upon.? Each will attend:? Business Meetings; Social Activities; Student Scientific Sessions; Poster Session; and Awards Banquet. It should be noted that the Officers and Committee Members are the official hosts of the Research Forum so their attendance will be mandatory at all scheduled activities.? If for personal reasons a committee member is unable to attend, he/she will be held responsible to advise Dean for Alternate or Replacement Committee Member and advise WSMRC Office accordingly.

The retiring committee members shall provide orientation to the new committee members.? It is recommended that a replacement committee member be recruited and recommended to the Dean or the contact person in the Student Affairs Office for appointment.? Arrangement for the potential committee member to attend a Research Forum as an Alternate to audit the Business Meeting is encouraged.? Students early in their medical school education should be recruited to promote continuity of school representation.

When academic schedule and genuine interest in promoting student research creates a personal conflict, it is recommended he/she relinquish their committee member status after discussion with Dean and/or faculty representative.? It is expected that each committee member assess his/her contributions to both his/her school and WSMRC to determine the effectiveness and representation of both.? Being a committee member encompasses a great responsibility to the school being represented, the student body of each school and the overall future of WSMRC. For a self-motivated individual, being an effectual committee member can be both an educational and worth while experience that provides an opportunity for personal growth.

Members of the professional societies sub-specialty review committees judge the student abstracts with an objective point system on an equal basis with faculty abstracts.? In that way, those professors most familiar with the subject matter judge the abstracts concerning that subject.? By this process, all abstracts are judged and assigned a point rating.

At an intersociety Program Planning Committee meeting, which is usually held during the month of October, the presidents of the WS, AFCR, WSCI, WSPR, WR, SID, and WAP and the Executive Director of the WSMRC, meet to plan the Carmel Program.? On the basis of their point rating, student abstracts compete with faculty abstracts for placement in the Faculty Subspecialty Meetings and Poster Sessions.? The Student abstract with the highest score abstract is selected to be presented to the Combined Plenary Session of the WS, AFCR, and WSCI and is known as the "E.E. Osgood Award" Winner (other high graded student abstracts may also be selected for plenary sessions).? The highest scored abstracts receive the WSCI / WS, AFCR Subspecialty Awards and are presented to regular subspecialty meetings or Plenary Sessions.? The student abstract on a pediatric topic with the highest score is selected to be presented to the Plenary Session of the WSPR and is known as the "Lowell Glasgow Student Research Award" Winner. Other highly rated abstracts are selected for presentation at the Faculty Poster Sessions.? The Student Scientific Sessions are filled with the highest rated student abstracts which were not selected for presentation to the Faculty Subspecialty Meetings or Poster Session. From each member school, the top rated abstracts not already receiving awards are given one year AFCR memberships and a certificate suitable for framing.

??????? Two additional awards known as the "Klea D. Bertakis Award" and "Dionesia P. Bertakis Award" (established by the officers and committee members of the WSMRC) are given to those students who give the best oral presentation of his/her paper at the Oral Student Scientific Sessions.? The "Claude and Clifford Lardinois Awards" are also given to two students who have the best poster presentations at the Student Poster Session.? The judges, who include the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Senior Advisory Chairman, Committee Member Representative(s), and Faculty Advisor, rate each presenter with a ten point rating scale. All graders evaluate all presenters and scores are then averaged for each presenter to allow selection of the winner.? (Grade Sheet Sample follows).? Posters are graded on a somewhat modified basis to reflect the nature of the presentation and are graded by the guest speakers (3) and four (4) WSMR Committee Members.

STUDENT FORUM GRADING SHEET

FOR THE WSMRC KLEA D. BERTAKIS, DIONESIA P. BERTAKIS, AND CLAUDE AND CLIFFORD LARDINOIS AWARDS


PRESENTER NAME: ______________________________________________________

TITLE: __________________________________________________________________

JUDGE: _________________________________________________________________

Numerical Ranking Guide (CIRCLE GRADE)

9-10??? OUTSTANDING - One of the best presenter in regards to this
particular area.
TOP 10%

7-8???? VERY GOOD - Ranks well above the average presenter.
70th - 90th PERCENTILE

5-6???? AVERAGE - Comparable to the average presenter in this area.
40th - 70th PERCENTILE

3-4???? BELOW AVERAGE - Deficient in regard to this particular area.

1-2???? POOR - Definite weakness in this area.
0 - 20th PERCENTILE


SLIDES (POSTER):? Relevance, Clarity, Creativity???????
1???? 2???? 3???? 4???? 5???? 6???? 7???? 8???? 9???? 10???????

DELIVERY:? Style, Clarity??????
1???? 2???? 3???? 4???? 5???? 6???? 7???? 8???? 9???? 10???????

SCIENTIFIC QUALITY:????
1???? 2???? 3???? 4???? 5???? 6???? 7???? 8???? 9???? 10???????

RESPONSE TO QUESTIONS
AND COMMENTS:??
1???? 2???? 3???? 4???? 5???? 6???? 7???? 8???? 9???? 10???????

TOTAL SCORE: ___________________________________________________________

COMMENTS: