Western Resident Medical Research Forum (WRMRF)

9th Annual Meeting of the WRMRF

Conference dates:  January 28 - January 31, 2009

Message from the 2009 WRMRF Chair

Brian Jonas , M.D., Ph.D.

Stanford University Medical Center, Department of Medicine

Welcome to the 9th annual Western Resident Medical Research Forum in the scenic coastal cities of Carmel and Monterey, California. This marks my seventh year attending this wonderful conference and each year I have attended has been a great experience. I have presented talks about my dissertation research in the past and most recently became involved in the conference leadership as the WSMRF Vice-Chair, WSMRF Chair and WRMRF Chair the past three years. It is now my distinct honor to be chairing the Residents’ Forum for a second year.

This year’s conference should continue the tradition of excellence that has come to represent the WRMRF. Besides the wide variety of activities available with the other societies, the WRMRF will be holding its Residents’ Forum on Saturday, January 31 where residents will compete for a $500 prize distributed among the best talks. Afterward, we will meet for the Residents’ Luncheon and Panel where our keynote speaker, Kelley Skeff, M.D., Ph.D., will give his talk followed by our residency panel discussion. We hope you will contribute to the panel discussion where students will have an opportunity to ask you anything from residency applications to life in academic medicine. I encourage everyone to attend these events and of course to take some time to unwind and enjoy the surroundings.

I look forward to seeing everyone in Monterey and Carmel!

*****************************

Western Resident Research Forum (WRMRF) Representatives

School

Resident Representative

E-mail Address

Stanford

 

Brian Jonas , M.D, Ph.D. 2009 Chair

bajonas@gmail.com

UCSD

Jeffrey Lee, M.D

jklee@ucsd.edu

UBC

Alexandra Zorz, M.D.

azorzi@cw.bc.ca

USC

Sujan Sandhu, M.D.

ssandhu@usc.edu

Loma Linda

 

 

UCLA

Nima Gharavi. M.D., Ph.D.

ngharavi@ucla.edu

UCSF

Suma Shankar, M.D., Ph.D.2009 Vice Chair

shankars@peds.ucsf.edu

Harbor-UCLA

Christina Wang, M.D.

wang@labiomed.org

New Mexico

Deana Mercer, M.D.

dmercer@salud.unm.edu

UW

 

U of Arizona

Tracy Hagerty, M.D.

hagertyt@gmail.com

UCLA

Fran Kissel, WRMRF Program Co-Director

fkissel@mednet.ucla.edu